Has a major league baseball manager or player ever won an argument with an umpire?
In one 1924 Giants vs. Cubs game, with runners on first and second and a full count on the Cubs batter, Umpire Bill Klem called ball four on a check swing, forcing the man on second over to third. The catcher, however, thought the batter had swung and threw the ball to the third baseman, who tagged the incoming runner. The Giants, led by irascible manager John McGraw, argued the batter had actually swung, striking out -- transforming the runner tagged at third into an out as well. After consulting another umpire, Klem reversed his decision, changing the pitch to a strike and calling both batter and runner out. The Cubs lodged an official protest, pointing out the runner had been tagged at third only because of Klem's original call. The National League President ruled the game a "no contest."
Another example of umpire reversal occurred in last year's Angels - White Sox playoffs, when umpire Randy Marsh mistakenly called runner A.J. Pierzynski out after pitcher Kelvim Escobar tagged him with his bare hand while holding the ball in his glove. White Sox manager Ozzie Guillen argued the call, and the umpires ruled Pierzynski safe.
About 99.9% of the time, managers who argue an ump's call may as well be talking to a wall. And that's when things can get interesting.
Receive post updates by Email